Have a question? Want to report an issue? Contact JFrog support

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Overview

Files can only be uploaded to a version from the Repository, Package or Version levels and only by the owner of the package to which the version belongs. Empty files cannot be uploaded to Bintray. Upload file size may be limited depending on your account plan. Files uploaded to a version of a package that belongs to a repository within an organization, another member of the organization may view and publish the unpublished files, if that member has the correct authorization within the organization.

 

Page Contents


Uploading a File to a Version


  1. Access the Repository, Package, or Version pages of the relevant version. You can navigate to the required version via the hierarchy.

  2. From the Actions list, select Upload Files.
    The Upload Files form opens as part of the Version page (instead of the tabs).


  3. You can upload files using one of the following methods:

    • Drag-and-drop the files onto the Drop File area.

    • Click Select file and select the file or files (multiple selection is allowed) to be uploaded through the browse dialog box that opens.

  4. Click Upload. Every file is uploaded to a default directory in the relevant repository. The subdirectories, however, may be changed by the user, for convenience in managing multiple files under the same version. You may add in the field Target Repository Path the path to which you want the file to be uploaded, if you want to place the file in a subdirectory relative to the repo’s root directory.

    Uploading Maven Files

    As part of the advanced support that Bintray provides to Maven files, if the files you are uploading are of a Maven project (only Maven), Bintray automatically determines the target repository path according to the POM file (which must be included, according to Maven standards). Bintray offers you the option of assigning to the uploaded files the path as determined by the POM file. This is recommended but not mandatory. Click here for more information about POM files.

    When there are files uploaded to the version, they are displayed as a list in the Upload Files form. Note, though, that the uploading is not final yet. The files are now uploaded and saved. In order for your files to be visible to users, they need to be published. Files that are successfully uploaded are not automatically published by Bintray; you need to publish them yourself. Following successful upload, a message box with the option to Publish All or Delete All the files appears.

    • Delete All files means undoing the upload you did just now.

    • Publish the files means making them available to be viewed and downloaded by all Bintray usersYou can now navigate out of the current page, but remember, files can only remain unpublished for a period of 24 hours. If you do not publish them within that time, Bintray will automatically discard them. 

         You can identify new files that have been uploaded but not published since their icon is displayed with a green dot.

  • No labels