Search


Cloud customer?
Upgrade in MyJFrog >


Working with an older version?

JFrog Artifactory 6.x
JFrog Xray 2.x
JFrog Mission Control 3.x
JFrog Distribution 1.x
JFrog Enterprise+ (Pre-Platform Release)




Overview

You can manage access to repositories by defining users, assigning them to groups and setting up roles and permissions which can be applied to both users and groups.

Managing Users

Administrator Users

An administrator user is to the system as a "root" is to UNIX systems. Administrators are not subject to any security restrictions, and we therefore recommend to create a minimum number of administrators in your system.
You can control which Permission Target Managers have access to thereby assigning responsibility for a specific repository path. For details please refer to Managing Permissions.

The Default Admin Account

The default user name and password for the built-in administrator user are: admin/password.
You should change the password after first log in. If you forget the admin account password, you can recover it. Please refer to Recreating the Default Admin User.

The Anonymous User

The platform supports the concept of anonymous users and installs with a pre-defined anonymous user to which you can assign Permissions just like for any other user. 

Anonymous access can be controlled under General Security Settings.Set Allow Anonymous Access to activate the anonymous user. The anonymous user must be activated before you can fine tune its permissions.

When anonymous access is activated, anonymous requests can download cached artifacts and populate caches, regardless of other permissions defined.

Creating and Editing Users

Only administrators can create users

To create users you must be an administrator.

To manage users who can access resources in your system, in the Administration module, select Identity and Access | Users.

Passwords are stored as hashes or encrypted hashes.

Page Contents

Create a new user by clicking New at the top of the users table.

In the New User (or Edit User) dialog you can set the User NameEmail Address and Password for the user as well as the following parameters:

Admin Privileges
When set, this user is an administrator with all the ensuing privileges. For more details please refer to Administrator Users.
Disable UI Access
When set, this user can only access the system through the REST API.
Can Update Profile

When set, this user can update his profile details (except for the password. Only an administrator can update the password).

There may be cases in which you want to leave this unset to prevent users from updating their profile. For example, a departmental user with a single password shared between all department members.

Disable Internal Password
When set, disables the fallback of using an internal password when external authentication (such as LDAP) is enabled.
Can Manage Policies
When set, this user can set Xray security and compliance policies.
Can Manage Watches
When set, this user can adds, edits and deletes watches.

Recreating the Default Admin User

If you are unable to obtain administrator access, you will need to recreate a default administrator user in order to be able to manage users of your system. This can be done using the Access bootstrap.creds:

  1. Create a file called bootstrap.creds under JFROG_HOME/artifactory/var/etc/access

    Artifactory HA version under 6.8.0

    In case you are running an Artifactory HA cluster, make sure to do the changes on the primary node. After the last step, perform a rolling restart to the cluster (restart each node starting from the master node).

  2. Populate the file with the following content:

    <admin user name>@*=<your new password>

    Note: You can create the file with multiple lines to create multiple Administrators, for example:

    admin1@*=password1
    admin2@*=password2
  3. Make sure the file has relevant permissions:

    $ chmod 600 bootstrap.creds

     The permission assigned must be exactly 600. Neither a more permissive, nor a more restrictive permission setting will work

  4. Restart the Access service by restarting the corresponding Artifactory instance



Disabling Remember Me at Login

The login screen includes a Remember Me checkbox. If the user sets this checkbox when logging in, the system will store a cookie in the browser for a period of 7 days allowing the user to be logged in automatically when starting up the system.

Once the cookie expires, the user will have to log in again.

An administrator can disable this feature and force all users to enter their credentials at every login. To do so simply add the following property to $JFROG_HOME/artifactory/var/etc/artifactory.system.properties and restart the system:


artifactory.security.disableRememberMe=true



Managing Groups

A group represents a role in the system and is assigned a set of permissions.

Creating and Editing Groups

A group represents a role and is used with RBAC (Role-Based Access Control) rules.

To manage groups, in the Administration module select Identity and Access | Groups.

Create a new group by clicking New at the top of the groups table.
Assign a unique name to each group with an optional description.


Assigning Users to Groups

There are two ways to manage users' assignment to groups:

Setting permissions

In both cases, you can assign corresponding permissions to the user or group respectively on the same screen. For more details please refer to Managing Permissions

Setting Groups for a User

You can assign and remove a user from groups when the user is created or by editing user's details later.

In the Administration module, under Identity and Access | Users, from the list of users, select the user you wish to assign to or remove from  the group.

In the Related Groups section of the form, you can set which groups the user should be assigned to.

Setting Users for a Group

You can assign and remove a user from a group by editing the group's details.

In the Administration module, under Identity and Access | Groups, from the list of groups, select the group you wish to modify.

In the Users section of the form, you can set which users should be assigned to the group.

Automatically Assigning Users to a Group

When creating (or editing) a group you can set Automatically Join New Users to this Group.

When this parameter is set, any new users defined in the system are automatically assigned to this group. 

This is particularly useful if users are defined automatically and you want them to be assigned to certain groups. For example, when using external authentication such as LDAP, users are automatically created on successful login and you can use this parameter to assign these users to particular groups by default.

Assigning Admin Privileges to a Group

If Admin Privileges is set, any users added to this group will automatically be assigned with admin privileges in the system.
For reasons of security when Admin Privileges is set, Automatically Join New Users to this Group is disabled so that new users are not automatically provided with admin privileges.

Copyright © 2020 JFrog Ltd.