We have a Maven repository set up that our Jenkins server is allowed to deploy to. The repository Snapshot behavior is set to "Deployer" so the version information from the Maven POM file is retained. Deploying works without a problem.
However, it is still possible for Jenkins (or any user with Deploy permissions for that matter) to re-upload a build of the same version. This is not expected, as this effectively allows user to overwrite existing artefacts without having Delete permissions.
Using a different Snapshot behavior to ensure artefacts are not overwritten by jenkins is not a viable option as users can still re-upload manually.